Living Proud: Talking to my kids about diversity

This morning when I checked my phone, there was a deluge of congratulatory posts on social media from friends screaming their joy about the Supreme Court’s decision on Prop 8 being unconstitutional.  Image

My older son, Kai, who is about to turn six, asked why his dad and I were so happy. We’ve talked about all types of diversity, including inequality for African Americans that still goes on today, his transgendered preschool bud being able to announce that he wants to be a mommy when he grows up, and his many friends’ lesbian parents. These are topics that I do not shy away from with my kids.

Maybe I am lucky that growing up in San Francisco has offered Kai the chance to have friends with two moms or two dads, or to hang with a transgendered soccer buddy whose lesbian mama co-parents with her gay dad. Or that his little boy bestie dressed like a ballerina for Halloween. Or that to him having two dads is as normal as having a typical hetero mom and dad, though to him the white picket fence is a totally weird addition. He can see two men hugging in the street and not be grossed out about it like the boys I grew up with in LA. And to him, and his San Francisco peeps, it is normal to grow up with a black President and a Chinese mayor and a queer teacher.

And so today, when I proudly announced to him that his Auntie Teej could legally be married, he shrugged, threw a basket into the hoop and said, “yeah, cool” and went about his business. While my generation and those older than me have come a long way today, our kids live equality, believe in equality, and are one step closer to living in an accepting world thanks to the hard work of those fighting the real fight.

One response to “Living Proud: Talking to my kids about diversity

  1. Pingback: The San Francisco Bay Area’s Best Beaches | Planet Playground·

Leave a Reply

